Justin Kemerling: My Review

I am not an artistic person. Ok, that may be an understatement. I can’t even draw stick people without them looking like they were chopped in half and put back together by a drunk toddler. Because of this pleasant fact, I always simply assume that graphic design and myself were not two things that would mix well.

stock-photo-artist-paints-a-picture-of-oil-paint-brush-in-hand-with-palette-closeup-132622640

With that belief in mind, I was pleasantly surprised to say the least by Justin Kemerling’s presentation. Simply listening to all the work he had done with various organizations and the causes they stand for (see a few here) was really cool in my opinion. The video he showed in class, the one he made to try and convince people to vote, was really well done and I thought it was super cool and pretty effective. That may have been one of my favorite things he showed us, that and all of the stuff he helped the ‘Pipeline Fighters’ (I have to say I love this title he created for them.).

Justin seemed like a very down-to-earth guy who was super easy to understand and follow as he explained exactly what he did in his day-to-day career. Whatever questions were thrown at him, he always seemed to come up with coherent, easy to understand answers.

I really liked the work he does with non-profit organizations. For some reason I didn’t think it was going to be like how he described it to be (very vague, I know), but it was actually really interesting to hear about and I’m super glad I got to listen to him speak.

stock-photo-graphic-designer-at-work-color-swatch-samples-186776609

Overall, I’m very impressed with everything Justin Kemerling has done in his career and everything he showed our class in his presentation. It made me realize that being artistic is only one skill that a graphic designer needs to be successful in his or her career. While I am not artistic, I think if graphic design is something I want to pursue in my future, I may just do it… not that I think it is, but you know, now I feel like if it was I could do it… but I probably won’t.

 

Justin Kemerling: My Review

Leave a Reply

